St. Hilda’s & St. Hugh’s opened its doors in 1950, realizing the dream of the Reverend Mother Ruth, who envisioned a school community that would reflect the racial and ethnic diversity of New York City, respect and celebrate the faith backgrounds of all families, and foster a deep understanding of each student as a uniquely sacred human being.
Just a block from the school’s original location, St. Hilda’s & St. Hugh’s moved into our current building which included 80,000 square feet of intentionally designed learning spaces.View More
Virginia Connor was hired as Head of School. The addition of World Language beginning in early childhood, as well as physical education every day for every child were two of Ms. Connor’s earliest curricular improvements.View More
The Board of Trustees approves the 20-year Master Building Plan that included rebuilding the school project by project, floor by floor, year by year. The first phase was completed in 2001 and overhauled the fifth floor and the C.V. Starr Library and Learning Center.View More
In January 2008, our 500 square-foot greenhouse opened in an effort to help students discover and delight in the natural world. While in the greenhouse, students explore everything from gardening techniques to sustainability and conservation.View More